Young Writers Society

Always There

25 Reviews

Reviews: 25
Tue Jun 21, 2011 3:08 pm
roxywriter1573 says...

Always There
(P.O.V. of Amy Jones)

The first time I saw him was last year. I was a Freshman and he was a Junior. I thought he was the most gorgeous male specimen I’d ever seen.
When I had finally realized that he was walking over to me that day, I got a little worried that he was just going to be mean to me, like all the other upperclassmen.
Instead, he sat down, smiled, and started talking to me as if we were old friends.
Now, he’s my gorgeous, popular best friend, I’m still the nerdy sidekick, and, of course, I’m totally in love with him.
“Hey, Apple Jacks,” he says as he sits down at my lunch table like he always does.
“Hey, Jolly Ollie,” I say with a smile.
“You know, you’re the only person that dares to call me that. Everyone else just calls me by my last name.”
“Yeah, but I’m not everyone. I’m special,” I say. “I’m your best friend.”
He smiles.
“That’s true,” he says. “Oh, hey. There’s a party at Sean’s house on Friday night. We have to bring a date so…do you wanna go?”
“As your date?” I ask in reply, a smile playing on my lips.
He nods and I smile. He could take any hot girl he wants and he chose me instead.
“Yes, I’d love to go with you,” I finally answer.
He kisses my cheek, a big smile on his lips.
“Thank you, Amy,” he whispers.
No, I think. Thank you, Oliver.

On Friday night, I dressed in a short, sparkly green dress and put in my contacts. I slipped on my new silver stilettos, straightened my red hair, and did my makeup (like my mom taught me to. “Bring out the color in your beautiful green eyes,” she’d said.)
I look in the mirror and smile. My braces had been removed that afternoon and I couldn’t stop smiling all day.
“Amy! Oliver is here!” my mom yells.
I walk downstairs and stood about two feet away from the love of my life.
“Hi,” he says with the biggest smile I’ve ever seen on his face. Is he high? Why is he smiling like that?