z

Young Writers Society

Heartbeat.

498 Reviews

Reviews: 498
Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:18 pm
theotherone says...

This was the day. The day it would all change, and the day I would finally have the courage to take her in my arms. It had taken way too long, and I knew deep down that I would loose her if I didn't take the situation in my hands.

I had been talking and flirting with her for almost three months, and not even a kiss had been shared yet. Like seriously, what are you waiting for? I had decided that this afternoon would be different, and nothing I wanted to day or do would be pushed back inside of my mind. Every compliment, every whisper, every kiss would be given to her without an hesitation.

My heartbeat was picking up as my hand ran down her arm, slowly, carefully. Afraid I was going to wake her up with all the excitement in my chest, I pulled my hand back down by my side, settling on only looking at her.

It was dark in my room, but I didn’t care. My eyes had grown accustomed to the dimness of the light. The shadows covering her body were like dark ink on her cream colored skin, on her closed eyes, her cheekbones, in the crease of her arms. My hand itched to touch every one of these black stains, like I was fascinated by them, almost like I was an artist studying his canvas after a long day of painting. I forced myself to stay put, and looked around my room to distract myself.

The sun was blazing outside, replicating the heat and light that seemed to glow inside of me. I had pulled the blinds shut when we had walked in earlier today; feeling like the glowing light was too much for her gentle eyes.