z

Young Writers Society

Sparrow and Spaghetti: Chapter 1 part 1

47 Reviews

Reviews: 47
Mon Jun 20, 2011 4:39 pm
purpleandblue22 says...

Spoiler! :
This is my first time writing in a while, so please be brutal. I think something is wrong with the first couple of paragraphs. Help?

It really could be worse, I suppose. I could be on the stage. I could have a number branded on my face and shackles around my ankles; but I don’t, and this situation still sucks.

There are what, two hundred people crammed in here? We are surrounded by concrete walls and a high metal ceiling. The old wooden stage in the front of the auditorium is stained with blood. It’s like going to a speaking for the worst prophet in the city, only to find the doors are locked behind you and the speaker has disappeared with the money in your pocket.

The screams of the young echo as parents try fearfully to shut them up. My mother clutches my hand with white knuckles. My father holds our bidding number like it’s a poison. 146, in big red letters; that’s all we are, a number.

They sent it to us in a brown box, with a letter. A poor old man delivered it to us with tears in his eyes. Of course, I'm not supposed to know that. I heard the door bell ring and ran to my hide away. From there I watched my father take it from the man and nearly pass out once he opened it. Nothing has been the same since.

A small girl’s scream erupts from behind the curtain. She sounds in so much pain. How can they expect us to do this? This is insanity. I-.

“SILENCE!” a guard shouts. My stomach must have just moved two inches upwards. He’s 6’2”, and has enough muscle to lift three hundred pounds. In his hand, is a fully loaded machine gun.

My father lays a protective hand on my shoulder. His face has gone from a comfortable tan, to ghostly white. It’s beginning. Even the sobbing children go quiet with fear.