z

Young Writers Society

White Bandit

1259 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 1259
Sat Nov 27, 2004 10:22 pm
Firestarter says...

This was originally going to be the start of a novel, however I disliked it and left it as it were, an unfinished chapter. Moreover it was me practicising how to action, soemthing which I am still learning.

----------

The mob had swelled to over three dozen now, with several flaming torches, a few pitchforks and the leader patting his obligatory club menacingly. They were asking for blood, stomping their feet and beginning to circle around their prey. Two males, stood back to back, clad in armour with white tunics underneath, held out longswords.

“Must we kill them, brother?”

“Us or them, and I know which one I’d choose,” replied the second man, twirling the sword round in his palm.

The first man just nodded. Others were flocking to the back of the group, and the pair encircled looked certainly doomed, bar a miracle. They were perched on the top of a low hill, the grass wet with winter’s dew and the tree’s whirling in the late afternoon breeze, the sun hidden behind a cloud, not even bothering to make an appearance.

“Murderers! You’ll pay for what you did to Logan!” shouted a fat woman near the back.

The second man sighed heavily. How do we serve such people with so little mental scope? Logan had been a fool. Drunk, he had stumbled at the two men and shouted the usual rubbish they heard around these parts, about not needing foreign help and buggering off back to where they came from. He had merely ignored the man and walked past but having heard the familiar sound of an unsheathed weapon and, turned back to knock the knife out of the man’s hand.