z

Young Writers Society

Prey

11 Reviews

Reviews: 11
Tue Jul 24, 2007 4:05 pm
norm91 says...

Like I've said this is the first piece of fiction that I've attempted to write. I've not given thought to character development or anything - I'm good at that, regularly invent characters without any sort of plot. This is mainly to see how my plot works. I would like a lot of constructive critism seeing as this is my very first attempt. So please... fire when ready.

It was written for a contest, but I wanted to see what kind of reception it would get when analysed. So here goes.

Michael awoke prematurely; the beads of perspiration were running in streams down his face into his mouth – the bitter taste of salt was nothing compared to what was to come. He stumbled out of his bed; he went over to the curtains and pulled them apart, expecting to see thunder, and torrential downpour. Ironically, the sky was clear and the air was humid. Then, the clunking fist punched his door just once. Michael knew immediately what that meant.

“So, is this it?” enquired Hannah. Michael had been unaware that she had woken up; he had other things on his mind. While reaching underneath his bed to pull out his kit, Michael nodded. Never before had he worried so much. As he got dressed Hannah kissed him on the neck, knowing that he would never have the opportunity to tell her again he spoke of his “undying love” for her. Undying? His sardonic choice of words was entertaining to say the least. It was the break of dawn – the moment of reckoning! He departed without uttering another word.

“Knife? Check. Blowtorch? Check….” Michael said while he checked his rucksack, he was prepared. However, he knew that his rivals would be prepared too perhaps more so. The motorcade pulled up down the main street, in a few moments he would need to make his move.

“NOW!” A rugged unknown shouted - this perplexed Michael.