z

Young Writers Society

Missing! All comments welcome! Not full story!

Random avatar

Reviews: 2
Sat Mar 18, 2006 5:52 pm
Kwl~Coley~Kwl says...

Extract from “Missing”

The news bulletin flashed onto the screen, once again. Up popped the picture of Shade Morgan, a tall fourteen year old boy, with short, black, greasy hair. It was the third time this week. Still missing.
“This is the most recent photograph we have of fourteen year old Shade Morgan,” the news reporter announced.
I studied the picture of the boy. He looked familiar, yet I couldn’t put the name to his face. His eyes scared me. They were looking right into mine, as if trying to possess me. I looked at his nose. It was long and pointed, slightly off centre. Maybe he had broken it in the past. He had a small mouth, with pursed lips. He seemed to be in the middle of changing his facial expression when the picture was taken. His neck was thin and long, like a giraffes. He was extremely thin. He looked as if he never ate anything. I looked away and continued reading ‘The Beano’.
“I wonder where he is. Do you know him? He is about the same age as you, Demi,” mum asked me.
“Hmm. What?” I replied.
“I said do you know him?” mum repeated.
“Who?” I asked.
“Oh Demi, do try and pay attention! Shade Morgan, he’s in your year at school. Do you know him?” she asked me once again, sounding slightly irritated this time.
I put down my comic and glanced at the picture again.
“Dunno, he seems familiar. Maybe I do,” I told her.
She let out a sigh and continued dusting the old, chipped ornaments that sit on top of the fireplace. I don’t understand why she keeps them. Most of them are cracked down the middle. They are hardly worth any money.
The news reporter spoke again.