z

Young Writers Society

Jungle Warriors

5 Reviews

Reviews: 5
Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:01 am
lyricsandlimericks says...

I peer through my rectangular rims at the approaching colony. The black and white mass squawks a battle cry and surges forward, tumbling over the green shoots and roots that make up the jungle floor. I grab my dentistry tools and let the adrenaline take over, vaulting over the low vegetation. One penguin catapults itself towards me (since penguins can’t fly) and I take it out with my contra-angled probe. Though I am a female dentist, I am a fierce fighter.
“Take that, you beast!” I swing again at another bird with my sickle, “That’ll teach you to brush!” I keep at it, swinging all around. As I viciously fight, in the back of my mind I know I can’t hold forever. The largest penguin, definitely the leader of the pack, shrieks deafeningly. I look at him to find bloodlust in his eyes. As I strike another bird, the alpha-penguin bends down and wipes at the moss-covered ground like a bull.
Before he can start running, I split like a banana. There’s no way I’m sticking around for that. I’m already halfway up a tree before the mob actually realizes I left the battlefield. Dim-witted creatures, those birds are. They waddle towards the tree with all their might, hopping and snatching with their beaks.
I glare at the beasties, shaking my head with disappointment. They’re old enough to know that you should floss. That’s what got them into this mess. If they’d only been careful about their oral hygiene, then I wouldn’t have had to take them into this mad jungle. As I observe my enemies, my eye catches something in the reflection of my mouth mirror. I squint and lean forward, not realizing what’s behind me until it’s too late.