Young Writers Society

Exam Writing.

896 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 896
Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:04 pm
View Likes
PenguinAttack says...

The kid I tutor is having some trouble with his essay writing in exams.

*I* am having trouble finding the info I need on how to write faster during exams.

I know you can just practice like crazy, writing essays over and over until your speed picks up - and it does work.
My problem is that he's an impatient sixteen year old. ^^ He doesn't want to be sitting around practicing during his holidays.

So, I was wondering if anyone had some tips on how to increase writing speed any other ways? Preferably quick and fun ideas?

Hehe I know it sounds terrible... But I'm an awful tutor. ^^

Thanks in advance.

*Hearts* Le Penguin.
Last edited by PenguinAttack on Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I like you as an enemy, but I love you as a friend.

694 Reviews

Reviews: 694
Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:09 pm
View Likes
Via says...

The fastest way I know is to do a really quick outline. Disect the points you need to cover and put them in order and then just write it. I think that always works for me....I think...lol.
My Literary and Arts Blog

"I think I'd miss you even if we'd never met." -The Wedding Date

896 Reviews

Supporter

Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:18 pm
View Likes
PenguinAttack says...

Hrmm, yeah, we've talked about outlines, and I just got a stack of stuff off the net about it for him to look at.

Thanks Via. ^^ It's a workable idea.

816 Reviews

Reviews: 816
Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:29 pm
View Likes
Leja says...

Any outlining, actually, is helpful. I like webs better. For instance, I'll write the topic in a big circle in the middle of the page, then draw smaller circles around it for paragraphs, and add facts around those for what I want to cover in those paragraphs. That way, you don't have to spend time while you're actually writing wondering what you're going to say.

3821 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 3821
Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:25 am