Freedom from jail
Law, oppression, and rules.

Much like our writings freedom is diverse,
Unique,
Untouchable,
Blissful.

Peace, freedom, liberty, and diversity,
These four words describe inspiration itself
Without them poetry, cooking, songs, art, all of this would mean, Nothing.

Free verse utilizes all of these to their full potential,
Painting pictures and making new discoveries
Breaking rules and the regular writers train of thought
What you get is a new type of poem,
A hybrid
A free verse.
Salt in the air, blood in my veins, no more black clouds, just colorful days...

305 Reviews

Reviews: 305
Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:29 am
speakerskat says...

This is my first time writing a free verse! Let me know what you think and were I can improve ;) !

696 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 696
Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:16 am
Audy says...

Speakerskat,

I like the thought process behind this piece, I can quite vividly see your ideas and you state them quite clearly. But that's what this becomes - stated ideas. I have nothing against ideas, I love ideas. But ideas are not poetry. This reads in the way that an essay should read - someone who is exploring through their thoughts and making a discovery by the end - which is all great, but once again, not poetry.

Poetry dwells on the experience. When you go to see a film about love - you do not go to hear about a thesis, main point, or lecture about how love is empowering. You go see a film to escape. You're immersed in the setting, you feel for the characters, you're involved in the plot - trying to figure out what's going to happen next. Film is the language of the moving image. Poetry is the same way - the language of words turned to images.

I feel like the first two-stanzas are like a long unnecessary prologue or introduction. I like the third stanza, and I actually think it can start the piece.

Much like our writingscomma freedom is diverse,
Unique,
Untouchable,
Blissful.