z

Young Writers Society

The Search

9 Reviews

Reviews: 9
Tue May 24, 2011 4:59 pm
lunahlove says...

So I've never tried steampunk before, and I need some serious help. Much to my chagrin, the due date for this short story was set much earlier than I had expected, and now I need to finish it before tomorrow. This is all i have, and as you can see, I haven't even gotten to the main plot yet. I'm looking for some crit, some suggestions, and especially plot ideas. Anything to drive the story forward. Torrie is likely to be the only main character.

Torrie Burwind stalked down Little street, hands buried deeply in his coat pockets. A newspaper jutted out of his right pocket, the headline prominent: “204 N.R. – THE YEAR OF THE REVOLUTION (?)”. The wind, blowing against him, only served to irritate him further. The street was lined with houses, all packed together, their roofs like giant stairs jutting into the rumbling sky.
Ambros hadn’t shown up, that bastard, and he’d gone and wasted half a day for it. It was nearly three, according to his fob watch, well past the time Ambros ought to have been waiting for him at that stupid little café downtown.
Torrie turned from Little street onto a smaller, unnamed path lined with four or five houses on either side, and crossed the road towards a tall, faded red brick house tucked at the end of the path. The window curtains were all closed. “Bastard,” he muttered, and walked up the steps to the door. He raised a fist and banged on the door, calling “Hello? Is anyone home? It’s me – it’s Torrie –”
There was the sound of footsteps, a few clicks, and then the door opened, revealing an enthusiastic, smiling, aging man. “Burwind! Get in, get in, quick. Hurry.” Torrie stepped in, alarmed, and turned around just as Ambros shut the door behind him.