z

Young Writers Society

Chapter 1 of what I hope to be a novel

7 Reviews

Reviews: 7
Fri Feb 06, 2009 3:13 am
RebellionLies says...

Author's note: This is my first time here, so it's nice to meet everyone. I write in my spare time (and by spare time I mean when I should be doing things like homework) and have been sharing my scribbling with friends and family, and now with all of you. I copied and pasted this straight out of Word so there's no formatting (not even indentions copied over) so just bare with me. Thanks, and feedback is encouraged.

-Yours Truly
RebellionLies

Untitled

"The world is very different now. For man holds in his mortal hands the power to abolish all forms of human poverty, and all forms of human life." –John F. Kennedy

I had awakened that morning to something strange, but at the same time, so familiar. I woke up to the Sun. For the first time in many years I had awakened to daylight, sleeping effortlessly through the night without the sporadic crackling of gunfire or the intimidating explosions of artillery shells in the distance. For the first time in years I had not been awakened in the dead of night with a single whisper in my ear: ‘Run.’ I looked out to see the Sun flood its light upon the war-torn city with renewed hope, offering a reassuring comfort for the future. And by my side: My love, Emma.
It all began after the collapse of the American superpower. The Throne of the World was open for the first time in centuries, and what became known as the Second Cold War traumatized the globe. A militant arms race sent aspiring nations to harness the relatively new technology of robotic warfare. America, fueled with desire to regain power, was quick to lead the race. China, in the shadows of global politics for decades, surprised everyone when they had announced their plans for an investment in robotic warfare.